Professor Tanya Monro is Deputy Vice Chancellor: Research and Innovation and an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow, University of South Australia. She served as Inaugural Director: Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing, and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics at the University of Adelaide.

Tanya received the Bragg Gold Medal (best Physics PhD in Australia) and a Royal Society University Research Fellowship, at the University of Southampton. Tanya’s numerous awards include: South Australia’s “Australian of the Year”, Scopus Young Researcher of the Year, South Australian Scientist of the Year, and the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year.

The Science Inspiration 2014